adventures in blunderland
navigation
current
archives
profile
about
bio
cast
contact
email
notes
right now
listening to: the tv. i took my speakers home.
reading: so many history articles. so. many.
credit
host
design
life
www.flickr.com

give me a break
2007-05-07, 5:01 p.m.

You know you love the Random Hiatus. Don't even pretend.

~

Since my last entry it's been procrastination, procrastination, procrastination.

I watched Amelie on Friday night. It was painfully adorable and moving in its optimism. Also, the first fifteen minutes of that movie were by far the most satisfying, captivating first fifteen minutes of any movie I've ever seen. New favorite? I think that yes.

Saturday I went to my aunt's house to celebrate my grandmother's 90th birthday.

Can you imagine living to be 90? I can barely believe I've made it twenty years relatively unscathed. Lola is kind of a controversial figure in my family, but there's no denying she's resilient.

~

I also played Mario Party with my cousins. And I won. Wheee.

~

I just have one question. I'm not saying this is like, the Crisis At Hand or anything, or that I'm having nervous breakdowns about it or whatever. I'm actually kind of amused. But I just really need to pose this quandry while I'm aware of it:

Why is there no love for meloogle?

Why is it that the kid that my Creative Writing class calls the Unibomber has a girlfriend, but I'm left out in the rain?

Even the guy with the Indiana Jones hat and the trenchcoat and the fucking walking stick can find love.

But not meloogle. Oh no. No. Twenty years. Nothing. Well, a couple false starts. But other than that.

Come on, universe. Something's gotta give.

~

Update on the "Please Stop Eating Microwave Cake At 3 AM Or You'll Probably Have Diabetes When You Grow Up" plan?

Well... I've stopped eating microwave cake at 3 AM. I admittedly haven't done that in quite a while, though.

And I've stopped eating after 9 at all, which is a big deal for me. Sometimes if I know I'm not going to bed for a long time, I push the time limit back to 10 or 10:30. But eating at night is one of my worst habits, so kicking it is a good start.

And I'm still not snacking very often, except for that Oreo pie I made with CMSB in the middle of the day.

Sometimes I wonder if "not snacking" is really something I should be doing. Because lots of nutrition type advice people say that snacking isn't bad as long as it's small portions and you keep your meals small, as well.

But I don't think you understand my definition of snacking. A handful of pretzels needs to be followed by a couple Hershey's kisses, which needs to be countered by something salty like potato chips, which makes me want a sandwich--but I can't have a sandwich, so I start craving meal food, and before I know it I'm at the convenience store buying Stouffer's meat lasagna and a bag of Milanos and eating them at 5:15. And then I go to dinner at 7:30.

So yeah. Until I can stop doing that, snacking is out of the question.

Exercise is still limited to walking various places and not taking the elevator. So yeah. There are definitely missing elements. But it's a process, okay? A very slow, tentative process.

~

Well. I just took a delicious 1 1/2 hour nap. And now I don't really know if there was anything else I wanted to say. So I'll just go. Here I go!

Leave a comment {1}

last - next