adventures in blunderland
navigation
current
archives
profile
about
bio
cast
contact
email
notes
right now
listening to:
reading:
credit
host
design
life
www.flickr.com

haiku-tastic!
2007-11-04, 9:21 p.m.

I remember when I was sixteen and kept an online diary like this one, I literally experienced events of a day constantly thinking of how I would write about them in my diary when I got home. I used to have so much to say, and back then my life wasn't even that interesting! Now my life in infinitely more exciting, in my opinion, but I have nothing to say. That, my friends, is called irony.

And now, taking a cue from my adorable roommate Tink, I shall profess my love for Starbucks' Caramel Apple Spice hot beverage, in the form of a haiku:

ambrosial love drink
tipsy on hot apple juice
who invented this?

***

I need a haircut, I think. I'd like to participate in Whoorl's Hair Thursday, but the reason holding me back doesn't have anything to do with anything that makes logical sense, such my complete lack of time in any given weekday, or the fact that I, unlike virtually all of the rest of her readers, go to the Hair Cuttery (or as CMSB calls it, The "Haircut Depot") instead of Chez Hair or other ritzy salons of that ilk. No, the reason for my reluctance to apply for Hair Thursday is that I'm AWFUL at taking decent pictures of myself. I suffer from Tyrannosaurus Rex arms, meaning for this entry's purposes that my arms are too short to hold a camera away from me at any distance that is reasonable, plus, for some reason, my attempt to smile cutely and casually always instead comes out manic and crazed. So basically I'm afraid that if I send Whoorl a couple pictures of myself, she'll take one look at them and politely reply to my email: I'm so sorry, but I don't offer my services to chibi anime characters--just humans.

Maybe I'll force CMSB to take some farther-away-ish pictures of me with my camera. I'll bribe him with pumpkin pie. The boy will do virtually anything for pumpkin pie.

***

A thought: Pierogies? Are so, so delicious.

***

Tomorrow at school my co-op and I don't have her class (they operate on a profoundly confusing block schedule that omits 2 periods per day), so I'm dressing in my reject clothing and bringing His Dark Materials: The Golden Compass. Is anyone else reading this series? It's my new extracurricular reading project, which is to say that I've only read about 80 pages in the past month. I'd say it's just as riveting as Harry Potter and ten times more well written, so if you're looking for something to fill the great void in your life that opened when Harry Potter ended, I'd highly suggest His Dark Materials.

***

One more haiku, then I'm audi:

Sunday, easy like
changing leaves and attitudes
things could sure be worse

Leave a comment {0}

last - next