adventures in blunderland
navigation
current
archives
profile
about
bio
cast
contact
email
notes
right now
listening to:
reading:
credit
host
design
life
www.flickr.com

post-flood musings
2007-02-20, 10:51 p.m.

I'm currently waiting for my laundry to finish in the washers downstairs, and watching $40 A Day for lack of anything else to watch. I'm contemplating heating up some pizza rolls so I can promptly cram all six into my mouth at the same time because I am SO FREAKING HUNGRY because the food at this College (tm) is SO NOT ADEQUATE.

Ahem.

I could elaborate on my many Dining Woes, but I'm pretty confident that if I do I'll just come across as some sort of high-maintenance diva who breaks into hives at the mere sight of a curly fry. I'm not hard to please when it comes to food, really (hangers, on the other hand? NO WIRE HANGERS, EVARRR!!!). But there are only so many times one can eat the "Stir Crazy" stir-fry for lunch before it starts to get... um.. old.

I guess I kind of failed on the "not elaborating" thing. Heh. Moving on!

Today in my education class we started talking about our school observations. For the benefit of some random person who accidentally stumbled across this site and might not already know like, nearly everything about me, I am an English Education major, which means that I'll basically be spending the rest of my life in high school. And in about a week or so I believe I'll be starting my first real student teaching experience.

I have to observe for eight hours total, and I have to visit the school at least four times. Basically we're there to be teacher's aides--but sometimes the teachers don't know what to do with us and we end up just sitting in a corner of the classroom and watching. I wouldn't mind that, I think, and in some ways I might be relieved if that's the case. But mostly, I am kind of being a total sap about this and hoping I get the kind of teacher who takes me under his/her wing and lets me come in 4 mornings a week and invites me to Parent Night and lets me direct group discussions and grade papers. But I'm also kind of worried about the way I'll be perceived by the students there. This is my first time going back into high school (or middle school, depending on my placement) as a participant on the other side of the classroom, and I hope I'm convincing. Surprisingly, though, I'm not nervous--I'm really looking forward to get[ting] started on all those awesome things I suggested. But anyway, all I really know now is who else is going to be in my observation group. So I'll update as I find out more.

I know I said I would stop talking about the gotdamn flood, but I have to say--nothing makes you appreciate normalcy of little things like, oh, being able to use the entire length and width of your room, like having a disaster like the flood happen. I'm just saying.

Well, I've been sitting here for about 10 minutes alternately staring at the screen, racking my brain for things to talk about, or watching Alton Brown make Hollandaise sauce on Good Eats. So I think this entry might be over. Goodnight everybody!

Leave a comment {0}

last - next