adventures in blunderland
navigation
current
archives
profile
about
bio
cast
contact
email
notes
right now
listening to:
reading:
credit
host
design
life
www.flickr.com

and so they say-- watch me bleed.
2007-03-03, 8:51 p.m.

Ah, my friends. I write to you in the throes of feverish delirium. I (and, I believe, Lindsay) got sick from music.

It could have been the part where we stood outside in cold and windy weather for at least 3 1/2 hours, probably more, waiting to be let into the venue. Oh! Also! We ditched our jackets for a good length of time towards the end of the waiting period, because when we saw the "fan club line" start to move, we naturally assumed that all concertgoers would be let inside as well, so we stashed our coats in my car so as not to have to wear them inside. HOWEVER. Instead, the fan club line apparently got to have some kind of private acoustic concert while the rest of us waited outside for a good half hour or so. I'll be honest, I was ready to punch someone in the mouth. I could not fathom what sort of band starts a concert while more than half the audience waits outside. Also, what sort of a band plans for a general admission concert in February? But. The point is, this may or may not have contributed to the Grossness That I Am Currently Experiencing.

OR! Perhaps it was the part where we stood basically front-to-back, all-up-ons about like, 300 people for like, 3 hours. Maybe, being cramped so close to the people on all sides of me that when THEY danced, I danced, and basically having them breathe directly INTO my face, could have initiated the Sick. Perhaps that.

And maybe, just maybe, part of it was the fact that Linds and I decided to stay up pretty effin' late after the concert and upload pictures and, um, Photoshop them? That could have been a factor. I guess.

The next day, Linds had the gross, chills-and-fever, weird coughy sick, but it was, of course, simply incubating deep within my chest. But today, oh ho ho, it exploded at about 3 or 4 in the afternoon, and my family members kept feeling my head and neck and going "ewwww!" and my mom force-fed me Tylenol and antibiotics, and since then I've been in a strange cycle of cold and hot that I haven't had to deal with since the infamous FLOOD OF '07.

HOWEVER.

I MUST CLARIFY.

That it was WORTH IT.

The concert, of course.

These boys. I don't even know how to explain it. They make the best and most interesting pop music that I know of. Linds and I discussed it in depth on the car ride home, but I'm not sure I could repeat it all without sounding sort of pathetic. The band, the brothers--they make this music their entire life. It is their craft, and they are good at it. This is the third concert of theirs I've been to, and it was by far, despite the strange part where they let about 200 fans wait in the cold for a half an hour, the best I've seen.

I left exhausted and satisfied and impatient for the new album to come out. That's all I can ask from a concert.

A couple moments from the concert:


Taylor beseeching the crowd to sing, which he like, barely even needed to do, since everyone kept singing SO. LOUD. Seriously, people. I'm all for rockin' out with the band, but I'd like to be able to hear MOSTLY them and not MOSTLY the fans. I'm just saying.


Zac at the drums. One of the only pictures we could get of him all night, thanks to 1) the girl who could not keep her hands below her head, EVER, and 2) the girl who took pictures literally the whole time.


Oh, Ike. Is it Biz-Cas Friday already?


The stage. Beauteous.


The compulsory "THIS IS US REALLY HAPPY AFTER A CONCERT" picture. I don't know why I have no concept of where the center of a picture will be.


****


The rest of the weekend has been one big excuse to avoid work. I've literally done everything EXCEPT work: I went and ate dinner with the senior-sophs then played a mayhem-filled game of Life with them; I went to Target and got my concert pictures developed and bought some Teacher Clothing; I watched some DVDs with my sister; I finished Invisible Monsters by my good friend Chuck P. and started A Long Way Down; I tried to compile a portfolio for my Summer Writers Institute application but got distracted by a South Park marathon, etc.

Tonight I might have gone to see my old high school's jazz band compete somewhere, but then, you know, I started having a fever and not wanting to stand up, ever again. So I scratched that idea.

I'm not sure what I'll do after I finish this entry, but I'm almost entirely sure it will not involve homework. Um. I guess I'm more ready for Spring Break than I even knew.

And now it's starting to make me feel gross to sit up and type this, so Goodnight! Goodnight! Parting is such sweet sorrow that I shall say good night til it be morrow [or maybe the day after morrow]!

Leave a comment {0}

last - next