adventures in blunderland
navigation
current
archives
profile
about
bio
cast
contact
email
notes
right now
listening to:
reading:
credit
host
design
life
www.flickr.com

re-prioritizing
2007-04-16, 11:04 p.m.

To a young person, nothing is more arresting than the reminder that we are not invincible, that we are vulnerable and mortal despite our health and despite the fact that we've got so many years ahead of us. I think that what happened today at Virginia Tech is one of the most horrendous and quieting tragedies in my lifetime, on par with September 11th.

It's like deja-vu, watching the media handle this situation. When John Fiocco disappeared in March 2006, the absolute worst part of it was the reporters who infiltrated the places that were, effectively, our homes. I really feel for everyone who goes to that school, even the kids who weren't directly affected, because I can understand what it's like to be in a community that just wants to heal while the press tries to make a gimmick or a story out of your own grief.

And of course, I cannot begin to fathom the terror one feels when targeted by a clearly disgrunted gunman. I don't care about the cause-and-effect. I don't care about the could-have, would-have, should-have. Today, in every thing I did, my heart was with the families and friends of the people who died today. Plain and simple.

~

A couple of weeks ago I got a summons for jury duty....

Yeah.

May 31, I think. Should be an adventure.

This morning, I woke up groggy and headachy and my head started spinning when I sat up in bed. So I decided to go back to sleep. My cell phone rang at 11:50 and literally, I think some portion of my brain imploded, that's how sensitive I was to sound. I answered it and vaguely mumbled something that I think was related to the fact that I felt like crap and wasn't up for eating lunch at our normal time. Actually, you know, I'm not entirely sure that phone conversation actually took place. Maybe I was dreaming. Hmm.

Anyway, it was at that very moment that I decided to skip my 12:30 class. I thought I was being all Bad 2 tha Bone and stuff, but then I checked my email later in the day and it turns out my History teacher had cancelled class anyway due to a "horrific migraine." Cool.

~

I started this entry with high hopes, maybe I'd have something cool to say. But I'm exhausted and frankly kind of depressed about the news. So I'm just going to wraaap it on up. Off to bed. Stay safe tonight, guys.

Leave a comment {0}

last - next